E: info@hikevictoria.com

P: 1-250-889-3008

Scenic hikes and tours expertly guided in and

around beautiful Victoria, BC, Canada

Testimonials

We had such a fantastic time on this tour! It was our favorite thing to do well we spent five days in Victoria. We saw some of the most beautiful out-of-the-way sites and also learned some interesting historical facts. We are absolutely thrilled that we included this activity in our itinerary!
Patti R., Coeur De Lane, Idaho, USA - July 31, 2018
Thoroughly enjoyed our day combining the natural beauty tour in the morning and Gowlland Tod in the afternoon.  Mark was very informative throughout and provided water and snacks. Recommended a great lunch spot for us between activities. Would highly recommend.
Peter and Missy, Sydney, Australia - July 29, 2018
Would definitely recommend spending a day out with Mark visiting the sights of Victoria. Had a very entertaining and eventful time taking in the local beaches, parks and wildlife which all provided great opportunities for taking some memorable photos. Mark was also very generous and patient in sharing his passion for photography which we greatly appreciated. Great memories.
Carlo P.,  Melborne Australia - July 10, 2018
We had a wonderful Day looking over beautiful Victoria , Vancouver island , Canada ! Mark took us to some very interesting sights such as the park where the beautiful Herons nest to the driftwood sculptures on the beach to the sea lions at the yacht club , the wonderful Douglas fir forest to the giant 350 year old tree and then had lunch on top of a mountain with a view to die for !It was an excellent day well spent !  Great value!
Vikki D.,  Melbourne Australia - July10, 2018
This was definitely an astonishing tour. The nine stops around Greater Victoria really highlighted both the surprising and beautiful nooks and quirks. Mark is very professional when it comes to his knowledge of each of the stops, and it kept me interested with each new story. Alongside the intriguing stories and knowledge, our tour guide took pictures of our great adventures, capturing the beauty that surrounded us on the tour. I loved every second of this tour, and I certainly recommend this tour to anybody who likes to hike, enjoy nature, or who would like to see the beauty Greater Victoria holds in store.
Julia M., Grande Prairie Alberta, Canada July 5, 2018
I can't say thank you enough to Mark the tour guide for this hike! Mark taught us about the history of the forest in Victoria, gave us lots of time to soak in the view, took amazing photos, had great conversations, and made me feel right at home, even though I was 2,500 miles away from home. I went on a solo trip, and decided to sign up for this hike as I heard about it via another blogger. I brought along my own Nikon camera and as I am still learning the camera, he taught me different things to think about as I was taking "my shot". He also took great pictures of me and the other two wonderful ladies I met on this hike. It was a great experience, and I would recommend it to anyone who is headed out to Victoria. I also suggest doing whale watching through Eagle Wing Tours, as Mark gets you 20% off that activity, and it was well worth it! Thank you Mark for such a great time and view, and for the complimentary pick-up and drop-off! Cheers!
B.D.  Louisville, Kentucky USA - July 4, 2018
This has been a delight of our stay in Victoria. Mark was so charming and had such incredible knowledge of the area. We had 9 local stops almost all of which we had driven by or had seen, but his stories were interesting and informative. He took his time with us at each stop allowing my husband who had had hip replacement surgery last January and can get tired after a while. We spend a delightful five hours withMark and would highly recommend this tour.
Pat F.  Rancho Cucamongo, California USA - July 2, 2018
This was a very adventurous and scenic hike for us. Seeing the back country of Canada's finest Vancouver Island. Our guide Mark, was not only experienced but educated on terrain and plant species. He was quite a photographer and very humorous throughout our hike. We enjoyed every minute of this trip from start to finish. We just so happened to hike on Canada Day which made it even more memorable. This trip will be in our hearts forever. Thank you Mark again for a FUN TREK! We would highly recommend this hike for intermediate hikers. It does have gradual elevation change in some spots. The paved trail is well marked and only took a couple hours with many breaks, and photo ops along the way. Never did we tire or run out of water. Mark supplied delicious oat bars, water backpacks and trekking poles!  If you would like an experienced tour guide with a beautiful adventure to Gowlland Tod, this is the hike for you!
Tommy and Sara S.  Las Vegas, Nevada, USA - July 1, 2018
Mark is a great tour guide. Not only does he pick you up directly from where you're staying, he also makes sure he's packed you water, snacks, hiking poles, and even toilet paper!! He asks you plenty of questions on the way so he can accomodate any frights (e.g. heights) you might have or health issues. I took this tour on Canada Day which Mark made extra special by supplying everyone with a Canadian pin, Canadian flag and a piece of cake to celebrate Canada's birthday.  Apart from Mark's hospitality, he also has a great sense of humour, and a good deal of knowledge on the flora/fauna and the history of Victoria, which is a really nice touch while you're taking in the incredible views.  The hike is not as long or difficult as I originally thought it might be, but the opportunity to spend time at each view and take some photos is worth it.
Madeleine S.  Sydney, Australia - July 1, 2018
Thanks to Mark for a great afternoon hike, full of beautiful scenery, fantastic local knowledge and great conversation. It was great to be on a guided hike where we had plenty of opportunities to take in the scenery and learn more about the landscape.
Rebecca B.  Bristol, England - June 29, 2018
Landscape was breathtaking and Mark was an exceptional guide: funny, enthusiastic, informative and easy-going. We really enjoyed the hike and all the information Mark shared with us. It was the highlight of our stay in Victoria. If we ever come back to Victoria, we will definitely take another tour with Mark.
Annika K.  Turku, Finland - June 28, 2018
Great hike up Gowlland Tod with our friendly tour guide Mark. He made great conversation among our small group which made the time fly by and the tour easy to enjoy. Amazing photos taken and our cliff shots stayed within our comfort zone. Everything we needed was provided - water, snack, hiking poles, and backpacks. Highly recommend!
Lynn S. Toronto, Ontario, Canada - June 26, 2018
Mark, our tour guide was amazing. He is very knowledgeable, passionate, friendly and thoughtful.  The hike had incredible views of the island and the mountains. We are so glad that we booked it. Thank you Mark for making the hike so enjoyable and hiker friendly. Please don’t pass on this one, you will regret it.
Rudy B.  Vanouver, Washington - June 24, 2018
The hike through the Park was terrific. The views were awe inspiring and I enjoyed every minute of it! Mark was a great guide and made the experience very enjoyable. Highly recommend Hike Victoria!
Judy B. Ontario, Canada - June 19, 2018
We had a great time with Mark hiking in the Gowlland Tod Park. The different views were wonderful! Mark is an exceptional guide, very attentive and with a high knowledge on the history, wildlife and plants of the park! A wonderful afternoon! Thanks again Mark!
Joan G.  Lyon, France - June 19, 2018
My sister and I did the Top of Gowlland Tod Hike with Mark from Hike Victoria and it was an amazing experience. The views were breathtaking, like none we've ever experienced, seeing fjords, mountains, etc.
Mark was awesome. He was knowledgeable about the area, sharing facts about the terrain and as well some history on Victoria. We were given breaks when needed and Mike prioritized safety, making sure everyone was aware of where they were stepping. He gave us great hiking tips and reminded us to keep hydrated.
Overall we would do this hike again and we highly recommend it. You will be blown away.
Pauline D.  Toronto, Ontario - June 17, 2018
The Natural Beauty Tour was the highlight of my visit to Victoria! Tour programme was comprised of good variety of attractions, which allowed us to really get to know Victoria. As an additional bonus, we had a pleasant surprise - hiking up Mt Douglas. Mark is very professional and passionate about what he does. His intelligence and great sense of humour made our tour pure fun!
Svetlana V. Calgary Alberta - June 15, 2018
 
had the best day on Mark's Natural Beauty Tour! We were able to see so much! It was wonderfully interesting, informative, so much more intimate than a larger tour like the hop on hop off bus! I appreciated seeing some 'off the beaten path' sights and being away from the cruise ship crowds. My very favorite was taking Mark up on the option to hike from the base to the summit of Mount Douglas.
Bryn L.  Madison Wisconsin, USA - June 15, 2018
Mark is an fun and informative guide who took us on a wonderful hike we may have never found ourselves. Since we were visiting Victoria without a car, it was definitely a treat to be taken out of the city and shown some incredible vistas.
Ken D.  Kirkland, Washington - June 14, 2018
Was a little nervous that this was going to be a sweatfest- but it absolutely hit the sweet spot! Not too hard, not too easy. I would call it a hike, but didn't feel like I needed a day to recover. The views were a giant payoff. You walk through stunning woods but then have portals that just take your breath away. Mark, the guide has a lot of great info to share and the pictures he shares are very fun. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to family and friends.
Andrew W. Los Angeles California, USA - June 10, 2018
Mark is awesome! He took his time to explain what we were looking at and took us to amazing viewpoints. His personality is so personable and an added bonus are his incredible photography skills. We got some of the most amazing shots! Thank you for such a fun experience. My husband and I highly recommend.
Ashley J.  Jacksonville, Florida, USA - June 9, 2018

Mark picked us up in Victoria for an afternoon hike at Gowlland Tod Provincial Park, providing water, snacks, lots of local information (flora, history), and even suggestions for sights to see the following day. We also purchased the photos he took of our family. The pace of the hike was perfect, and both kids were happy!

K.S.  Wisconsin, USA - June  7, 2018

We took several tours during our stay and our day with Mark was the best of all. He adjusted the tour to our abilities and was still able to show us all the beautiful sights of his city. He went out of his way to help us when needed and was an absolute pleasure to spend a day with!

Kathy L.  Phoenix, Arizona, USA - June 5, 2018

Picked up by Mark the guide. The hike is really great, not too difficult.  He gave loads of information about the park, it's very interesting. The views during the hike are really amazing. When you go out there on your own you def won't see the things that Mark shows you. Highly recommended.

Renee K.  Rotterdam, The Netherlands - June 4, 2018

My two teenage boys and I went out with Mark for the Gowlland Tod hike. From the start Mark was friendly, accommodating, totally professional and organized. My expectations were exceeded when Mark had everything we would need for the hike.  Mark had the right mix of talking and walking and we felt comfortably challenged. The photo spots were great fun and Mark is a great photographer. Even my son who doesn’t like to be in or take photos, was into both. The views were spectacular and I would (and have) highly recommend this trip to everyone.

Nora K.  St. Catherines, Ontario - June 4, 2018

Mark, our guide, did not skip a beat! The hike includes water, snacks and Mark's knowledgeable lay of the land and hiking tips. All of this was delivered with Mark's great sense of humour. The hike itself was not too strenuous and yet offered a good light workout. The views were breathtaking. We even had the privilege of watching a few soaring vultures in the sky. Don't forget to let Mark work hismagic with his camera. The photo memories will be a great memento for years to come!

Renee T.  Edmonton, Alberta, Canada - June 2, 2018

Mark was fantastic and really knew his way around the hike and the history of the area. We had an amazing time and would highly recommend this for anyone who loves outdoor adventure and beautiful views.

Gord P.  Alberta, Canada - June 2, 2018

The Top of Gowlland Tod Hike with Mark was definitely a highlight of our time in Victoria. It’s a wonderful way to see some stunning scenery, be active, and connect with a local who is happy to share some insight into the area. Plus if you are interested you can get some professional photos of your trip at a very reasonable price (absolutely zero pressure but well worth it in my opinion). Even with drizzly weather, the views at the top are stunning. Mark is a gem— knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. The entire process from booking to drop off at our hotel was hassle-free. Highly recommended.

Misty W.  Jackson Tennessee, U.S.A.  June 1, 2018

I had an amazing day of two tours with Mark. We saw some breath taking views and even play a little with some seals.  In the morning, we visit places at the coast with astonish views of the mountains. We walk a little in the forest to see a huge tree and have nice and fresh air.
The tour in the afternoon to the mountain was also amazing. We have a lot of fun doing photos and I also learned a lot about the flora and fauna of the region. The views at the top is something that I will not forget.  Mark took such a good care of me and the other two people in the tour. He was extremely responsive to our needs.
This is a day that I recommend 100% to anyone and If happens that I visit Victoria again I will for sure take another tour with Mark.  Thanks Mark!

Karla H.  Germany - May 28, 2018 

Fantastic hike and guide!  We’ve just finished a hike with Mark. Felt compelled to review as it was such a fantastic afternoon. Great route, fabulous company. Mark has so much local knowledge, was well prepared and personable. We cannot rate highly enough. Thank you Mark. Jenna and Jade xx

Jenna C.  London, England - May 27, 2018

We really enjoyed our walk with Mark. The views of Gowlland Tod are amongst the best I’ve seen anywhere in the world. The hike is well paced and Mark is a friendly, knowledgeable guide. We purchased some additional photos from Mark and these will be going up on the wall at home. Both me and Emily would highly recommend this tour. It’s worth noting that the cost is a little higher than on the flyers you might find downtown but for 5 hours this is still good value for money. Go!

Jonathan T.  London, England - May 24, 2018

Together with Mark (the guide) I went up to the top of Gowlland Tod just outside Victoria. Because of an cancellation it became a private tour. From the start I felt a great connection with the guide and had an amazing time. He knew a lot of facts of the nature on the way and where the best view spots were. Because he is a professional photographer he made pictures (if I was okee with that) on the way. One picture was included in the price of the hike. In the end I bought the whole package of pictures which were amazing. So if you like a hike to an amazing view point with a friendly and interesting guide you should definitely book this trip. The time flew by and I had a great evening. A hike never to forget.

Romy D. The Netherlands - May 21, 2018

The Natural Beauty Tour was the best purchase I made in Victoria!  I am blown away by Mark's Natural Beauty tour. I can't think of a way to make the experience any more perfect. The amount of stops was the perfect combination of seeing A LOT OF PLACES yet having enough time at each stop to take in the spectacular views. The tour was a lovely way to connect with Victoria. I felt like a superstar getting private and special access to the breathtaking locations and scenery. Eat a big breakfast and TAKE THIS TOUR!!!

Jessica B.  Philedephia Pennsylvannia, USA - May 12, 2018

Beautiful spot for a fun and relax hike with a great guide. Mark was attentioned and made sure that we were comfortable and safe during at all time. Excellent communication throughout the booking process and during the hike as well. Gave us a lot of information about botanics, wildlife and history of the region. Photos taken are great. Very original couple pictures! We strongly recommend to book with Hike Victoria if you plan visiting Vancouver Island. This activity has been an highlight of our trip to Victoria.

Marie L.  Quebec City, Canada - May 7, 2018

My husband and I had one day to see the sights in Victoria so we signed up with HikeVictoria. We were not disapp    ointed and would highly recommend this tour to those who want to experience the beauty and history of Victoria. Our guide, Mark, took pictures along the way which we were able to purchase for a reasonable price. He captured the highlights of our day with his professional photography.  I have limited mobility and Mark was very helpful in accommodating me so that I could enjoy this beautiful city.

Valerie S. , Frankfort, Kentucky - May 5, 2018

Awesome Hike!  Mark was a great guide - went at our pace, lots of interesting info on the area. He provided hiking poles which were very helpful! Loved the pictures - they are amazing!!

Linda S.  Oakville Ontario, Canada - May 4, 2018

After enjoying several days sampling Victoria’s gourmet offerings as well as generous portions of gelato it was time for some exercise. We were directed to Hikevictoria.com. The hike to Gowlland Tod as described on the website seemed to be a perfect match for what we were looking for.
Mark could not have been more accommodating. He was careful in assessing our abilities to complete the “Medium difficulty” hike to the summit since, after all, we were considered seniors. Judy, our Beagle Mia and I had a great time learning about the forest unique to us. Mark is knowledgeable and genuinely loves all aspects of this area. We would highly recommend this outing; very personally rewarding.

Bob J.  Mendicino California, May 3, 2018

Mark's Natural Beauty tour was excellent in every way. He is personable and helpful and obviously knows the best of Victoria's many lovely natural attractions. My highest recommendation for 5 hours of fun, easy exercise and learning about the history and hidden secrets (most good) of this gorgeous city.

Patricia D.  Toronto, Ontario Canada - May 1, 2018

A great experience!  As a visitor to Victoria without a car who wanted to see and hike in areas farther from the downtown the Natural Beauty Tour was an excellent choice. We made several stops and Mark, who is a professional photographer, took photos of each of us as well as giving us time to take our own. We were provided with hiking poles which I found helpful on the unpaved trail sections. The views were great even thought the mountains were partially covered in clouds Mark's commentary was always interesting. I like being on a small group tour and hope to bring my daughter on one of Marks tours in the future. I love the photos Mark.

June P.  Hamilton, Ontario, Canada - May 1, 2018

On a family trip to Victoria we booked a hike with Mark which turned out to be the highlight of our entire trip! He picked us up right in front of our rented condo and as soon as we met in person we knew we were in for a great day as he was so friendly and accommodating. We spent an incredible afternoon with Mark, his knowledge of everything Victoria from history to flora and fauna was great, the hike was perfect with incredible views. Mark is also a very accomplished photographer, he took some awesome photos of us that we will treasure forever. When we done he also recommended several other things to do and see in the area which we really appreciated. Overall, it could not have been a better day or a better experience - Thank You Mark!!

Craig S.  Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada - April 27, 2018

My friend and I wanted a chance to see some of the natural beauty of the Victoria area, and Mark was a perfect choice. He picked us up at our hotel and took us to a dozen different places to hike and take photos. He was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and very considerate about any physical limitations we might have. And he certainly knew some fantastic places to get great photographs. Highly recommended.

A.H. St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada, April 25, 2018

My husband and I booked a hiking trip with Mark as part of our honeymoon, and we both thought it was a remarkable experience. Mark did an excellent job of reviewing safety with us, and making sure we felt comfortable throughout our 6 hour hike. He explained the foliage and scenery along the way, and we saw some breathtaking views. It happened to be a spectacular day for a hike, and we were rewarded with view of the Olympic Mountain range and Mount Baker. We both felt like the hike was a very enjoyable and rewarding experience, and Mark was an excellent hiking guide.

Laura F.  Alameda, California, April  23, 2018

The best total immersion in nature "Victoriabc"  I have to said is not enough words for said to Mark thank you for the Amazing tours. both are with full green nature is really lovely. all the places has the best view to see Victoria with more detail. he knows the most beautiful places to enjoy por complete your tour. Mark have a lot knowledge about everything in general, with great stories too. he is worries most of the time for you feel safe, is very kind and friendly, and for last but not less important, the incredible pics he took of me. is more than 100% of recommend you have to make those tours. Natural Beauty and Top of Gowlland.

Wendy M.  Bogota, Columbia April 19, 2018

Fabulous morning hike - we had a great time with Mark. Mark collected us and dropped us off. Gave us great recommendations about other things to see and do. Our morning hike was excellent - beautiful views and Marks knowledge of the trees, flora and fauna and all that live there was great. Mark also takes incredible pictures which leaves you with fabulous memories. Highly recommend a trip!

Sharon R. Perth Australia April 16, 2018

Wonderful tour with Mark! He was very informative about history and his hike took us to breathtaking views and left us with unforgettable experience. My girls and I highly recommend him! Mark is also a professional photographer and the pictures he took were above and beyond our expectations. Everything is very reasonably priced and worth every penny.

Marina D.  San Francisco, California, April 2, 2018

Many thanks for a great hike and for sending on the details of other things to do on vancouver island. The pictures too are amazing. We will definitely be coming back either next easter break or in the summer of 2019, so we will contact you beforehand.

Kevin F.  London, England, April 1, 2018

Really really enjoyed this experience. Mark was so knowledgeable and an awesome photographer! Would highly recommend this trip for the incredible views!

Kam S. London England, March 28, 2018

The hike with Mark was enchanting and one of the best scenic hikes we have done. The natural beauty of the island is breathtaking. Mark was a caring guide and made sure we had a good time. He's also a professional photographer and the photos he took of us were truly amazing and a great souvenir. Don't waste a minute, book a tour with him. The most memorable activity we did in the island!

E.C.  Lawrence, Kansas USA, March 23, 2018

Mark was amazing from our 1st inquiry to the moment he left us yesterday. Personable, attentive, informative & great fun! The attention to detail is greatly appreciated. The hike up Gowlland Tod was amazing. We recommend Mark & this trail & look forward to our next hike with him!

Terry C.  Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada - March 23, 2018

We had booked a tour with Mark, and actually we did not really know where we started exactly. Fortunately, Mark had an extra pair of good shoes taken along for me. Because he thought it my slippery sneakers might be a bit tricky. Along the way he has in consultation with us should take some pictures. (He is a photographer) and these then processed and mailed at a reasonable additional cost to us. We are very pleased with the photos that witness our very nice and beautiful hike.

Teun T.  The Netherlands, - March 19, 2018

We went on a 5 hour day hike with Mark Vukobrat with Hike Victoria. My 10 yr old daughter and I enjoyed the hike immensely! Mark shared entertaining stories about the history of Victoria, the foliage and made the trip a safe and fun experience. Mark is a professional photographer and if you want incredible photos of the scenic forestry, mountains and water in the background - this is the perfect trip for your family. Mark is very accommodating and super friendly!

Rabia K.  Atlanta Georgia - March 13, 2018

The owner, and guide, Mark was phenomenal. He made our hike feel special and personal. The hike was not too easy and not too hard. We enjoyed the most gorgeous views I have seen on Vancouver Island. I am a local and have hiked many of the mountains in the area, but Mark was able to show us some viewpoints I would never have found on my own. His local knowledge about the outdoors was just right and very interesting. Thank you for a memorable Sunday hike and the beautifully captured photos!

Jessica T.  Victoria, B.C. - March 11, 2018

I joined Mark from Hike Victoria for the walk up Galin Tod. It was fabulous - and not only because the weather was a perfect spring day. Mark answered all my questions about names of trees, history, geography, identified the birds flying by and to top it off led us to the places to get the perfect photos. He was a warm, engaging and genuine host and guide and I hope to return soon to do another adventure with Hike Victoria.

Veronica L.  London England - March 11, 2018

Great day! From start to finish. Mark is a wonderful guide - and photographer. Very thorough. Very personable. We lucked into the weather. The scenery is gorgeous. And, I must say it is nice to have a beautiful photo of the day. Thank you.

Judy M. Ottawa, Canada - January 3, 2018

Top of Gowlland Tod Hike - Top of the world!  This was a fantastic hike and one of the highlights of my trip to Victoria and BC. Mark was a terrific guide and took us on a 5 hour adventure (including breaks) through a beautiful forrest up to the outstanding views of the gorge. You need good hiking boots - particuarly in winter (there was some snow on the path still and there a quite a few rocks to scramble over). I would recommend this trip to both locals and visitors to the area. There is a maximum of 4 on this trip (I was joined by a great couple on the day). It was a good way to get out of downtown Victoria without a car and see a beautiful part of Vancouver Island.

Gail B.  Brisbane Australia - Cecember 31, 2017

Mark was an outstanding guide during our hike through the Victorian forest. He provided interesting facts and took amazing photos throughout the excursion. I would recommend this hike for residents of Victoria and travelers who are visiting the area. The hike takes about 5 hours (includes a few breaks for photos, a snack, and information about the flora and fauna of Victoria). This hike is perfect for beginning and experienced hikers alike. Make sure to bring good hiking shoes (especially for winter hikes) and water, as portions of the hike are potentially slippery or icy. Also, while Mark takes great pictures, you may want to bring a small camera or smartphone to take advantage of the amazing views.

Ryan T.  Portland, Oregon - December 31, 2017

The 27h of December, my parents and I went on a hike with Mark. But because there was so much snow on the mountain where we originally wanted to hike, Mark took us to a local hike, not far from Victoria. This was the best alternative we could have imagined. We did a hike to the top of a hill and the view was amazing. We saw the sea, mountains (even American mountains), Victoria itself and the entire neighbourhood around downtown. Then we went to some beautiful spots at the coast. My favourite stop was the one with the seals. The advantage of going with Mark was that he knows lots of interesting stories and information you would never find online or in a book. All our questions have been answered! We saw Victoria from a whole other prospective. One we never expected to see and you probably won't see without the knowledge of Mark. Additionally he took the most amazing pictures from me and my parents. Overall, it was a great experience!

Kaat V. - Belgium, December 27 , 2017

My family booked the Natural Beauty Tour with Hike Victoria which included various stops around beautiful Victoria, B.C. Mark Vukobrat was an excellent tour guide: communicative, kind, knowledgeable, and engaging. Although the weather was unusually cold, Mark had prepared us in advance with a list of suggested clothing and shoes to keep us warm. He provided us with a snack, checked in with us frequently about our level of comfort, and gave us an awesome tour that engaged my whole family. Pace, price, knowledge, and just good old-fashioned manners and kindness made this an excursion that my family will not soon forget. Thank you, Mark, for giving us this wonderful experience! :-)

Denise F.  Austin, Texas - December 26, 2017

Definitely the highlight of my trip through British Columbia so far! Mark, the hiking tour guide, did such a great job with communication prior to the trip and during the hike. Although the weather was not great, I was still able to see some amazing sites and get some amazing photos from Mark which I will cherish for a long time! I will be recommending this experience to all my friends who wish to travel to Canada. Thanks for a great day, Mark!

Paul G.  Brisbane, Australia - December 17, 2017,

Mark is an incredibly kind person who makes his guests' needs a top priority. For someone visiting Victoria without a car, this a wonderful way to get out into nature, to learn a bit about local history, flora and fauna, and to get some beautiful photos taken along the way (as an added bonus)! I would highly recommend this day trip to visitors or locals looking for a memorable day in stunning BC. I had a great time!

Corinne W.  Seattle, Washington, December 13, 2017

Great hike with a great guide!  I was visiting Victoria solo, without a car, in December. This hike was perfect because Mark picked me up and took me to the trail, which is mostly only known by a few locals. No one else signed up to hike when I was in town but Mark took me out anyhow, so I had a one on one guided hike! The hike was exactly what I wanted, good length, somewhat challenging terrain, and of course incredible breathtaking views! Mark is an excellent guide and photographer. He provided a yummy snack, hiking poles, backpack, and water. He also gave me great tips for the rest of my stay, including a bike route I could follow the next day on my own. I would highly recommend this hike to others!

Erin B.  Minneapolis, Minnesota, December 10, 2017

Working with HikeVictoria was a fun, convenient, and amazing experience. My wife and I bought last minute ferry tickets to Victoria during the off season and wanted to see the Salmon-Run, I discovered Mike online and booked a tour the night before pickup. He called me immediately to confirm the time and location of pickup. This is very convenient and unlike any other company I saw. Mark will pick you up at your hotel!

Mark explained the history and culture of Victoria while we drove to Goldensteam Park. He is a wealth of knowledge and a wonderful person to chat with. We then walked around the park with him while he explained the spawning process. This is was fascinating!!! He showed us a great spot to watch eagles over the bay and then drove through the Fjords to get some great pictures of the area. Last, Mark took us to an incredible waterfall.

We weren't looking for a professional photographer, but we got one!!! Mark took great photos of my wife and I. He sent them to us the same day and they look great! We will definately be visiting Victoria again and giving Mark a call!

Terrance B.  Washington D.C. November 29, 2017

Mark is the best person to hike with. He is incredibly knowledgeable about the area, knows all the secret viewing spots for spectacular views, and is a fountain of information about local history, fauna, flora, and practical advice for hiking safely. He is also very adaptable and can tailor the hike to your interests or offer alternatives if the weather doesn't cooperate for a particular portion of the tour (time permitting, of course. I got lucky since my schedule was very open and I was his only charge that day so we played it by ear). Mark is also a mindful guide, careful to watch for my pace and fitness level, takes breaks as needed, and is well prepared for weather and terrain.  Besides the wonderful guide, the hike itself is fantastic. We started out the day with the Salmon Run Tour and I saw more salmon than I ever thought I'd see in my life. I learned a lot from Mark about their life cycle, spawning behavior, and anatomy (nature is mind-boggling). We also ended up seeing some bald eagles at the estuary portion of the tour. We then proceeded to the Top of Gowlland hike which is particularly great with an experienced photographer like Mark, who knew exactly where to go for the best views. The hike itself had some particularly steep stretches made more precarious by the wet weather but it wasn't anything difficult for someone in moderate shape. For the Top of Gowlland hike, I recommend wearing comfortable hiking shoes or sneakers and layers in case the weather gets finicky (we encountered a few showers during the course of our hike). The Salmon Run Tour requires very little hiking, mostly just walking. I highly recommend both.

Vinnie Z.  San Francisco California, November 26, 2017

We did the the Victoria hike and salmon run with our guide Mark and it was totally worth it! Mark was such a nice and genuine guide and could answer every question we had. The salmon run was so interesting and i would recommend it to everybody. We were with 3 young girls and each one of us loved it. Mark also took amazing pictures and you can see that he goes the extra mile for the people that come with. It was an experience that we won’t forget! If we come back to Victoria we will definitely do another hike with Mark!

Maxime R.  Brugges, Belgium, November 14, 2017

This was a fantastic tour. Mark sugggested the Salmon Run Tour as it only happens for a short period. We were picked up from our hotel. Mark was very knowledgable keeping us entertained during the whole tour. From the Salmon Run we continued for a short drive up the mountain to a great lookout then he took us to a beautiful waterfall. We added the Trestle/Rail Bridge hike to our tour which is really worthwhile. Mark was very aware of our safety and gave us several breaks on our way up to the bridge. The view from the top was spectacular. Mark is also a great photographer.

Julie T. Cowra Australia, November 12, 2017

We did the Salmon Run with Mark and added the trestle hike, such a great experience! Mark was very knowledgeable and made it such a fun and unique tour. The small group made it super personal and being driven around made it such a relaxing day as we were shown all of these amazing places in Victoria. I would absolutely, 100% recommend a tour with Mark to anyone, and if I ever find myself in Victoria again, I shall do another!

Nicola W.  Sydney Australia, November 10, 2017

This was a highlight of my daughter's and my visit to Victoria. A short drive out of town and we were in stunningly beautiful mountains to see the salmon run and then a relatively short but steep hike to an old railway trestle bridge where the views are breathtaking. Mark is a great guide, helpful, very knowledgeable and full of amusing anecdotes. Almost immediately we felt as if we were walking with an old friend we'd known for years. A great way to spend half a day and we were blessed with the bonus of a black bear and 4 bald eagle sightings! Mark is also a gifted photographer and provided some beautiful photos of our trip.

Lesley F.  Melbourne, Australia, November 3, 2017

Mark took the time to get great pictures of us and the views were amazing. Easy hike, not very tiring or difficult

Vivianna B.  New Hampshire USA, October 9, 2017

Mark was so kind, helpful and explained everything from the minute we were picked up in his car until the moment we were dropped off back at our hotel.The day was just so enjoyable and we did the hike with another couple our age from Alberta; we are from Toronto. Just such an accomplishment for all of us to have reached the top and what a beautiful day; ending off with some beautiful photos that we will enjoy for a very long time. Mark, your photography skill have reached new heights. Thank you for giving us a memory that we will hold onto and cherish.

Brenda and Mark, Toronto, Canada October 2, 2017

Mark is an outstanding hiking guide and and also a really nice guy. He kept us entertained with fun anecdotes and shared his knowledge and history of the area. The Gowland Tod hike takes around 4 hrs but it is quite manageable and Mark knows every inch of the trail. The views were amazing. Would love to return to BC in the future and go on some of his other expeditions!

CFD62, Raleigh North Carolina, September 27, 2017

We did the tour of Victoria and the surrounds and had a great time with Mark. He was so informative and obviously loves the area. He took us to some great places with spectacular views you just wouldn’t see on other tours. We couldn’t believe how quickly the morning went. Would love to come back and do the other some other hikes with Mark.

Chris and Carol Anne, Wasall England, September 24, 2017

My fiance and I went out with Hike Victoria, and I cannot begin to express how much we loved our tour up to the top of Gowland Todd with Mark! He will take care of you every step of the way from the moment he picks you up until he drops you off; from providing hiking poles, snacks and water, to hiking best practices for the trail.
We are both locals and have not hiked in quite some time, but Mark made sure that we were going at a comfortable pace and was safety oriented. He is a very experienced guide with great stories and facts about the area. We could tell he loves what he does and was such a pleasure to have in our company.
Not only was the hike very enjoyable and the views at the top INCREDIBLE, Mark is also a fantastic photographer that will capture stunning photos of you surrounded by the best natural beauty Victoria has to offer. We will definitely recommend Hike Victoria to others!

Sophi M.  Victoria, B.C. September 22, 2017

Wow, not sure where to start. Mark was an amazing guide and had great stories and interesting facts to tell you along the way. It went by so fast and we didn't realize we spent over 4 hours with him. He surprised us and brought us anniversary cake in his camera bag for us to eat with the beautiful scenery. You can tell the nature is his passion and so is his photography. Our pictures are phenomenal.

I would recommend this hike to everyone who visits Victoria.

Aline S.  Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, September 22, 2017

We did two tours with Mark of Hike Victoria. The first was a hike up Gowland Todd to the top of the mountain. Mark is a very experienced hiker and knows the route well, so I felt safe because I'm more of a walker than a hiker and don't like heights. I really appreciated being picked up and dropped off for both our tours and Mark made sure we were fed and hydrated, also had hiking poles for our safety. Our second tour was a driving and walking tour. We spent two of our three days in Victoria with Mark. It made for a very enjoyable visit to Victoria, because we really got to enjoy nature and not just do all the typical touristy things.We found Victoria to be a very walkable city and with Mark's help, we didn't need a car during our stay.

Nancy B.  Peterborough, Ontario, Canada - September 21, 2017

Mark was very accommodating, informative and fun. We had planned to hike Gowlland Tod but we had a couple of knee inguries in our group. Mark quickly changed course and took us to three awesome locations that were much easier to get to but still spectacular to see. I was very thoughful about our safefy on the trails and offered lots of advice. The photos he took of our group turned out great and make a fantastic keepsake of the experience. I'd definitely recomment Mark's services.

Taneill D.  Medicine Hat Alberta, Canada - September 18, 2017

Great hike, amazing beauty and photo ops, fun information and nice people. This hike has everything you want for a memorable afternoon. Mark is the perfect guide- does everything to make you comfortable and make this a great experience.

Maureen, Little Silver, New Jersey - September 16, 2017

We had a great day with Mark. He was so accommodating and flexible in arranging our day. We hiked and visited some beautiful Victoria areas.  We were on a girls getaway to Victoria and we wanted to be active.  Mark took some great pictures for us to treasure.

Negrello, Lethbridge Alberta, Canada - September 15, 2017

Fun in the outdoors for our honeymoon  Mark was spectacular as a guide, he was on time, gave thoughtful descriptions and made sure we had some 1:1 time together as well. We enjoyed our trek and even though there was a lot of smoke from the fires in the US, got some really nice photos too.  The entire experience was very enjoyable and we were so glad we choose to spend our day with Hike Victoria!

Melinda H.  Seattle, Washington - September 14, 2017

Gowlland Tod -- the highlight of our trip to Victoria!  From the moment Mark picked us up from our hotel you could tell he wanted to ensure a great hiking experience for my sister and myself. He was very personable and put us at ease right from the get go. I particularly appreciated his concern for our safety and for providing us with everything we needed for the hike (backpack, walking stick, water and a snack). He gave us some pointers before we started, and as we walked along the trail he pointed out the tough spots and showed us how to navigate them safely. He shared his knowledge about the flora and fauna surrounding us, plus interesting tidbits about Victoria that really added to our experience. Best of all, he took some fantastic photos for us to remember the natural beauty of the fjord, Gowlland Range, and all the fun we had that afternoon. It's definitely not your usual touristy thing and I would recommend this to anyone visiting Victoria. Visit the Hike Victoria website for some "know before you go" info (what to wear, etc.).

YEGgirl - Edmonton, Alberta, Canada - September 13, 2017

The hike is enjoyable with having some level of fitness.  Instructions during the hike were very Helpful.  Photos were outstanding to remember this activity.  Even tough we met Mark for the first time we felt we had known him for a long time, that's the easy effect he has on the hiking members.  Having undertaken the Everest Trek some years earlier, this Trek was equally interesting along the way.

Joe A.  Perth Australia - September 12, 2017

Tour guide Mark was fantastic! We hiked on a day that was drizzling & very cloudy, so we didn't go to the initial hike he intended, but because he knows his trails, he took us on some beautiful trails to a waterfall & an old railroad bridge with beautiful views! It is obvious he has a great love and appreciation for nature and Victoria. He also brought walking sticks & yummy snacks & water for us. Mark says that he hopes that his tours are the highlight of your trip, and I would say that he was right! He cares to give you a memorable experience. We love that he uses his photography skills to take memorable photos of you too. So worth it! A Must Do when visiting beautiful Victoria!

Michelle B.  Mesa, Arizona - September 11, 2017

A great half day experience that truly opened our eyes to the natural beauty of Victoria. Mark toured us around various places of interest and shared his wealth of knowledge of his city. He catered the tour to my family's abilities (mixed age group of 27 to 85 years old) and made the most of the day despite smoke blowing in from BC's forest fires. Our natural beauty tour included a short hike in a douglas fir forest, vistas of the city from the top of Victoria, and the opportunity to feed seals at a harbour among other things. Definitely recommend this tour.

Gillian D.  Waterloo, Ontario, Canada - September 11, 2017

TAKE THIS HIKE! Mark is a fabulous guide. Even if you aren't in the greatest of physical condition for a hike, Mark will make it so you don't even realize he's giving you time to rest and catch up. He's very knowledgeable of the area and the foliage, which makes everything so interesting. And, a great photographer, too. I can't say enough about this experience and about Mark. Disclaimer: I had never met Mark before the day of this hike...he's just that good. Oh, and those oat bars? To die for.

Teresa C. Pheonix Arizona - September 10, 2017

What a fantastic tour! Poor British Columbia had been battling fires over our whole trip and the smoke had socked in Victoria and Seattle. But despite the fact that the mountains were wiped from our view, Mark gave an excellent tour and showed us all the natural beauty of Victoria's shoreline and forest. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour as a way to experience the areas surrounding the city. It was a fantastic experience despite the smoke, I bet it's an A+++++ experience on a clear day. Which means book it no matter the weather. I'd have done this tour in a light rain even!

Troux North - Cap Cod Mass, USA - September 6, 2017

Incredible experience. A must if you're in Victoria. A moderate hike that yields nothing but rewards, the views atop the peak are bar none in the Victoria region. Truly a hidden gem!  The guide, Mark, has a superb depth knowledge of the region. As well, he crushes his goal of providing you with the best overall experience of Victoria and 100% makes your time with him the highlight of your trip! Overall, a must see during your time in Victoria!
K. Quick - Leamington Ontario, Canada - August 31, 2017
After a few days enjoying the beautiful Victoria harbor and the various gorgeous gardens, as a solo traveler who wasn't driving, this hike was a great intermezzo.  The sights were all great and breathtaking....you can see from all the pictures.  Our guide, however, he and his wife are beyond awesome! Mark makes sure the group is safe (and hydrated ;-)) and educates us about the history and flora and fauna which he knows very well. He is personal and makeseveryone feel totally at home. We were a group of 8 in the end, and everyone had a great time sharing many laughs.  A ride with his wife Pam back was a delight, I came away with some great local recommendations.  Go, take a hike!
LeeCJ30 - Singapore -  August 30, 2017
Mark was a great guide. He made sure that we were all comfortable and was a wealth of information, both during the hike and for the perfect spot for a rewarding pint and lunch afterwards. The views were fantastic and I can see myself hiking this trail again, as he made it seem it was worth it in almost any weather. The pick up and drop off service is invaluable, as well as having water, snacks, backpacks, and walking sticks available for those traveling light. The photos he took turned out great! This was one of the highlights of my weekend trip!
Bassenav, Tacoma Washinton - August 28, 2017
Fantastic morning seeing some spectacular views from several spots. Excellent tour guide Mark was enthusiastic and informative . Great to meet some fellow hikers from USA to sure the experience.The walk was the highlight of our visit to Vancouver Island. Definite bonus having a professional photo to take back home will help us remember how special a day it was.
Helen M.  Melbourne Australia - August 28, 2017
The hike up go Gowlland Tod had spectacular views. You can't get these views just anywhere in Victoria. Mark is a great guide with lots of information about Victoria, and looked after our safety up to the top and back down. Use the hiking poles that he provides, they will make your ascent faster and keep you from falling when going down hill. I would highly recommend Mark for anyone who is looking for a guided hike.
Thaihoctuan - Gilbert Arizona - August 25, 2017
My husband and I hiked to the top of Gowlland Tod with Mark of HikeVictoria and it was the icing on the cake of our visit to Victoria. Mark is a big nature enthusiast, experienced hiker and skilled photographer. He took great care to make sure we knew proper hiking technique and even loaned us some hiking poles. He brought water and granola bars to make sure we were hydrated and comfortable. We stopped a few times on the way up to take in the stunning views. Mark took several photos with a high quality camera and gave us a link to download them. They were very high resolution photos which were taken from unique angles, and captured the beautiful views in just the right light. Best of all, he made us look great in the photos!
Fordomni2017 - Austin, Texas - August 20, 2017
My family and I decided to try some hikes and stumbled upon Mark's website online and I am glad we did.  He took us off the main trail a few times and took some awesome family photos of us. He knows all the right spots for spectacular views and photography. One of the highlights of our trip.
Jonathan V - London Ontario Canada - August 19, 2017
This was the 2nd time we took Mark's tour (our first one, 2 years ago, having been so awesome!). And (no surprise), we were not disa